Modifying a Server Plan

Updated

For server plans, you can modify the data retention period, RPO settings that specify how the data is backed up automatically, IntelliSnap settings, and associated entities. However, you cannot modify or delete the storage pool, and you cannot delete the primary storage copy.

Procedure

  1. From the navigation pane, go to Manage > Plans.

    The Plans page appears.

  2. In the Plan name column, click the server plan.

    The server plan page appears.

  3. On the Overview tab, specify the following:

Section

Steps

Backup content

  1. To modify the backup content, click Edit .

  2. To back up only some content, in Content to back up, enter the content to back up.

    By default, all content is backed up.

  3. To exclude folders or files from the backup, in Exclude - files/folders/patterns, enter the content to exclude.

  4. Specify whether to include the system state in backups:

    • To include the system state in all backups, move the Back up system state toggle key to the right.

    • To include the system state only in full backups, select the Back up system state check box and the Only with full backup check box.

    • To use Windows Server's VSS (Volume Shadow Copy Service) to back up the system state, select the Use VSS for system state check box.

Security

  1. To associate users and user groups with the server plan, click Edit .

    The Security dialog box appears.

    By default, the Master user group with a Plan Creator role is associated with the server plan.

  2. In the Enter users, user groups box, enter the users and users groups.

  3. From the None selected list, select the role to associate with the users and user groups.

  4. Click Add.

  5. Click Save.

Override restrictions

  1. To make the server plan a base plan, Click Edit .

    The Edit override options dialog box appears.

  2. Select the Allow plan to be overridden check box.

    Important: If you select the Allow plan to be overridden check box, and then click Save, you cannot clear the check box. However, you can click Cancel.

  3. Specify how you want the base plan to interact with the plans that are derived from it:

    • Override required: Plans derived from this base plan do not inherit the base plan values.

    • Override optional: Plans derived from this base plan can either inherit the base plan values or have different values.

    • Override not allowed: Plans derived from this base plan inherit the base plan values.

      Note: If you are modifying a setting that was set to Override optional, then you can change it only to Override not allowed. If you are modifying a setting from Override not allowed, you can change it only to Override optional.

  4. Click Save.

Tags

  1. To associate a tag with the server plan, Click Edit .

    The Manage tags dialog box appears.

  2. Enter a tag name and a tag value, and then click Add.

  3. Click Save.

Settings

  • To enable indexing for file search, move the File search toggle key to the right.

RPO

  1. For Backup frequency:

    • To add a new backup frequency, click Add.

      The Add backup frequency dialog box appears.

    1. From the Backup type list, select the backup type, and from the for list, select All agents or Databases.

    2. Specify the frequency of the backup.

    3. To specify the client time zone or to add exceptions, move the Advanced toggle to the right.

      • From the time zone list, select the time zone according to which the backups must run.

      • To add exceptions when the backups must not run, click Exceptions and add exceptions for any day of a month or week. Or schedule an exception for any week of the month.

        These exceptions will repeat every week or month according to the selected exception.

    • To modify an existing backup frequency, click an existing backup frequency.

      The Edit backup frequency dialog box appears.

      1. Modify the backup type and the frequency for backups.

      2. To limit the backups to only databases, move the For databases only toggle key to the right.

    • To delete a backup frequency, click Delete .

      Note: You can delete all backup job schedules from server plans, including the default incremental backup job schedule.

  2. For Backup window, specify when you want incremental and differential backups to run.

  3. For Full backup window, specify when you want full backups to run.

  4. For SLA:

    1. Click Edit.

      Note: The default SLA is one month, which is inherited from the CommCell.

      The Edit SLA dialog box appears.

      • To modify the SLA period, select SLA period, and then select a new value.

      • To exclude the backup frequency from the SLA calculation, move the Exclude from SLA toggle key to the right.

Snapshot options

  • If you don't want to run scheduled snapshot backups, move the Enable Backup copy toggle key to the left.

  • To modify how often the snapshot backups run, in the Backup copy RPO field, click Edit .

Backup destinations

  1. To delete a secondary storage copy, in the row for the secondary storage copy that you want to delete, click the action button , and then select Delete.

    A confirmation dialog box appears.

  2. Click Yes.

Database options

To modify the RPO frequency, full backup frequency, or enable disk cache for log backups, do the following:

  • For Log backup RPO, specify how often to run log backups.

  • For Full backup frequency, specify how often to run full backups.

  • To automatically back up the database logs to the MediaAgent cache, do the following:

    1. Move the Use disk cache for log backups toggle key to the right.

    2. For Commit every, enter how often to commit the logs to the CommServe computer.

      Disk caching of database logs applies to the following databases: Informix, Microsoft SQL Server on Windows, Oracle, Oracle RAC, and SAP HANA.

  1. To modify the entities that are associated with the server plan, do the following:

    1. On the Associated entities tab, in the row for the associated entity, click the action button , and then select Edit association.

      The Edit plan dialog box appears.

    2. In the Plan box, select None or a different plan.

    3. Click Save.

  2. To modify the companies that are associated with the server plan, click the Companies tab.

    1. To associate a new company with the server plan:

      1. Click Add company.

        The Associate to company dialog box appears.

      2. Under Company name, click the company to associate with the server plan.

      3. Click Save.

    2. To delete a company that is associated with the server plan:

      1. In the Associated companies table, in the row for the associated company, click the action button , and then select Remove association.

        The Remove association dialog box appears.

      2. Click Yes.

Results

The server plan uses the modified settings when the next backup runs.

Associating a Server with a Server Backup Plan