Restoring Full VMs for Microsoft Azure Stack Hub

Updated

You can restore virtual machines to the original location or to a different location. By default, a virtual machine is restored to the original hypervisor, using the same proxy as the backup.

To manage storage and costs, you can select the disk type (standard HDD or premium SSD) for the Azure Stack Hub destination VM (managed disks only).

Due to a Microsoft limitation, you cannot change the hostname of a restored virtual machine.

Before You Begin

  • You can backup virtual machines configured with Azure Stack Hub unmanaged and managed disks. From these backups, you can restore full virtual machines and restore guest files and folders.

  • For restoring VMs from IntelliSnap backups: When executing a restore of a full VM configured with Azure Stack Hub managed disks, because of a Microsoft Azure limitation, you can only restore the VM to the same Azure Region where the snapshot was created (the source of the snap copy used to restore the VM).

  • If a passkey is configured for restores, you must have the passkey.

  • If you want to restore data using a specific MediaAgent and/or copy, review the information in MediaAgent and Copy Precedence Considerations for Virtualization Restores.

Procedure

  1. From the navigation pane, go to Protect > Virtualization.

    The Virtual machines page appears.

  2. On the Hypervisors tab, click the hypervisor.

    The hypervisor page appears.

  3. In the Subclients area, click Restore for the subclient that contains the virtual machine.

    The Select restore type page appears.

  4. Select Full virtual machine.

    The Restore page appears.

  5. To choose a different MediaAgent or source copy for the restore, on the top right corner of the page, click Settings.

    The Settings dialog box appears.

  6. Configure the following options, and then click Save:

    • MediaAgent: Allow the Commvault software to select a MediaAgent or specify a MediaAgent:

      • Automatic: By default, the Commvault software selects the MediaAgent for the restore operation based on availability and environment.

      • To restore data using a specific MediaAgent, from the list, select a MediaAgent.

    • Source: Allow the Commvault software to select the copy of backup data or specify the copy:

      • Automatic: By default, the restore operation searches for the requested data in the primary copy and selects a different copy if the data is not found in the primary copy.

      • To restore from a specific copy of backup data, from the list, select a backup copy.

  7. Select the content to restore, and then click Restore.

    The Restore options dialog box appears.

  8. Provide the requested information:

    • Type: Select one of the following options:

      • In place: Restore to the original location.

        To avoid overwriting the original source VM, edit the VM display name for an in-place restore.

      • Out of place: Restore to a different location.

    • Restore as: To restore to a different virtualization platform, select the target environment from the list.

      By default, the Restore as list shows the source hypervisor.

      To restore to a different virtualization platform, see Cross-Hypervisor Restores.

    • Destination: Select the Azure Stack Hub subscription client for the restore operation.

    • Access node: Select a VSA proxy for the restore.

  9. If you are restoring multiple VMs, click the All VMs tab on the bottom left to specify configuration values for all VMs you are restoring, or the name of each VM to specify values individually. Specify the following values:

    • VM display name: (Optional) To change the name of an individual VM, enter the new display name in the box.

    • Enable edit destination VM name: (Optional) When restoring multiple VMs, to change the names of destination VMs, select this option, select Prefix or Suffix, and then enter a string to append to the original display name to create new destination VM names.

    • Resource group: Enter a name in the box to specify the resource group for the restored VM.

    • Region: Select the region for the restored VM.

    • Storage account: Select an Azure Standard or Premium general-purpose storage account. You can select a different storage account for each virtual machine and disk.

      The storage accounts listed are only those associated with the selected region for the restored VM.

    • VM size: Select a size specification for the restored virtual machine.

    • Disk Type: (Out-of-place restore for Azure Stack Hub managed disks only) Select the disk type for the destination VM: Original (same as the source VM), Standard HDD, Premium SSD.

      Note: If the size of the destination VM does not support the Premium SSD disk type, the VM is deployed with the Standard HDD disk type.

    • Network settings:

      • Virtual network/subnet: Select the network settings.

      • Preferred private IP type: Select either Dynamic or Static. If you select Static, the following appears:

        - Static private IP: Enter the IP address.

      • Create/assign public IP: If this is selected, the Public IP type entry appears.

      • Public IP type: Select either Dynamic or Static. If you select Static, the following appears:

        - Static public IP: Enter the IP address.

    • Security Group: Specify a network security group for the restored VM or leave the default value of Auto Select.

    • Restore as a managed VM: To restore virtual machines as managed virtual machines, select this check box.

      When you select this option, the restore operation creates virtual machine disks in the specified storage account, and then converts them to managed disks and attaches the disks to the restored virtual machine.

  10. To automatically start the virtual machine after the restore is complete, select Power ON Virtual Machine after Restore.

    Note:

    • The power state of the virtual machine does not affect subsequent backups.

    • If the virtual machine is powered on during the backup operation, by default, the VM is powered on after the restore completes (unless you clear this check box).

    • If you perform an out-of-place restore, by default, the VM is powered off after the restore completes (regardless of the value selected for this option).

  11. To delete an existing virtual machine and replace it with the restored VM, select Unconditionally overwrite if it already exists.

  12. Click Submit to run the restore job.