Oracle Cloud Infrastructure: System Requirements

The following requirements apply when using the Virtual Server Agent with Oracle Cloud Infrastructure.


Add a separate hypervisor definition for each Oracle Cloud Infrastructure region.


You can only back up and restore instances in the root compartment and first-level compartments for Oracle Cloud Infrastructure regions. You cannot back up instances in subcompartments or restore instances to subcompartments. As a workaround, either move the instances to the root compartment or a first-level compartment, or install an agent such as a file system agent on the guest instances.

Proxy Requirements

  • The VSA proxy must be an instance running in Oracle Cloud Infrastructure.

  • Deploy a VSA proxy for each availability domain.

  • The proxy must run one of the following operating systems:

    • Windows Server 2019

    • Windows Server 2016

    • Windows Server 2012 R2

    • For Linux proxy support, deploy a file recovery enabler for Linux (FREL) on an instance in Oracle Cloud Infrastructure.

      The Linux instance must have the MediaAgent and Virtual Server Agent packages installed.

  • The iscsiadm (isci-initiator-utils) package must be installed on the proxy.


To back up an Oracle Cloud Infrastructure instance that has storage pool disks, you must use a Linux proxy.

FREL Configuration

To restore files from a Linux instance, deploy a file recovery enabler for Linux (FREL). The FREL instance must meet the following requirements:

  • CentOS 7.5 or 8


    For CentOS 8 instances, to install operating system packages that are required to enable automatic installation of Mono, register the instances with CentOS.

  • Virtual Server Agent and MediaAgent packages installed

For more information, see the following pages:

Proxy Installation Requirements

On Windows:


Guest Operating System Support

The following guest instance operating systems are supported for VM conversion:

  • CentOS 7

  • RHEL 6, RHEL 7

  • Windows Server 2016

  • Windows Server 2012 R2

  • Windows Server 2008 R2