Restore Incus virtual machines
Restore a complete Incus virtual machine from a backup. You can restore the virtual machine to its original location or to another supported Incus destination.
Choose a restore destination
Choose where you want to restore the virtual machine:
-
In place: Restore the virtual machine to its original location.
-
Out of place: Restore the virtual machine to another supported destination. You can configure the destination hypervisor, project, host, storage pools, and network mappings.
Restore the virtual machine
-
From the Command Center navigation pane, go to Protect > Virtual machines.
-
Select the Incus hypervisor.
-
In the Virtual machines section, select the virtual machine that you want to restore, and then click Restore.
-
On the Select restore type page, click Full virtual machine.
-
On the Restore as page, select a restore type:
-
In place: Restore the virtual machine to its original location.
-
Out of place: Restore the virtual machine to another supported destination.
-
-
For an out-of-place restore, configure the destination:
-
From the Restore destination list, select the destination Incus hypervisor.
-
From the Access node list, select an access node or Automatic.
-
-
Under Configure restore options, configure the destination for the virtual machine:
-
VM display name: Enter a name for the restored virtual machine.
-
By project: Select the destination Incus project.
-
Destination host: Select the destination host.
-
-
Configure the storage pools for the restored virtual machine:
-
In Storage Pool, select the destination storage pool for the virtual machine.
-
To assign individual disks to different storage pools, enable VM disk configuration options.
-
For each disk that requires a different destination, select the appropriate Storage Pool.
-
-
Configure the network mapping for the restored virtual machine:
-
Expand Network settings.
-
Click Add.
-
Select the source network and the corresponding destination network.
-
Create additional network mappings as needed.
-
-
Click Save to save the restore configuration.
-
Under Restore Options, configure the options that you want to use:
-
Power on VMs after restore
-
Unconditionally overwrite if it already exists
-
Reuse Source VM client
-
Notify user on job completion
-
-
Click Submit.